200 word challenge – best food

For Week One your challenge is to write a 200 word recount of a time you…

 

Tasted the best food you’ve ever tasted.

 

Remember! This week we have been learning about chronological order. Make sure you get the sequence of events in the right order.

 

Begin your writing here: The best food I have ever tasted might be fettuccine carbonara. So, a few years ago. during the school holidays, me, my dad, my step mum, and my step sister went to Denny’s for a family dinner, since I was with my mum for the rest of the holidays.

 But I didn’t know what to order and I was struggling to choose so I looked over at what my step sister was getting, and she was getting the fettuccine carbonara. so I did the same.

Around 15 – 20 minutes later, when the food arrived. I started eating it and it was amazing! (That’s when it became my favourite meal from Denny’s)

After I ate it I wanted more (but sadly I couldn’t), when we were ordering dessert I got the oreo blender and it was also amazing! (It was also my favourite dessert to get at the time)

Ever since that day I have been getting the same thing from Denny’s, except for the dessert. But I always have the same dinner. So my new goal when I next go to Denny’s is to get something new, something that I haven’t had before. And it might be the new thing that I always get instead of fettuccine carbonara!

One thought on “200 word challenge – best food

  1. Hey Falen,

    I get what you mean about ordering the same thing – I can be a bit of a “creature of habit” when it comes to food. I’ll look at the menu over and over, but somehow always end up getting the same thing because I’m scared if I order something new, it won’t be as good.

    One thing I’d like you to focus on is reading your writing out loud to yourself – most of your sentences are great, but there are a couple that come out a little clunky – like the start of the final paragraph. I love the technique you’ve used with the ellipses (three dots) but if you read it out loud, it loses a bit of sense.

    Let’s also try to add some variety to our adjectives – I know amazing is a versatile adjective, and we can use it in a bunch of situations, but I’d like you to try to use more specific words.

    I always really enjoy reading your writing – can’t wait to read more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *